Meet Cher(ise) Carter-Smoot


Just in case the photos don’t give it away – I am quirky and very eccentric. I’m a hippie chick with a bohemian spirit. I’m passionate about life, art, music, and love. I live for my family and I believe that kindness is the only currency that truly matters.

I was born in St. Louis, Missouri, grew up in a small west Texas town, and have lived in Utah, Chicago and Alabama, to name a few. 

I’m addicted to music, documentaries, traveling, and meditation.

 


50 Things About Me

  1. I’m almost 55 years-old
  2. I’m not ashamed of my age. I didn’t think I’d make it past 30!
  3. I have four amazing children, three daughters, and one son.
  4. I have two amazing in-law children, a daughter-in-law and a son-in-law.
  5. I’ve been married four times – three of them to the same man. 
  6. When I married my second husband for the second time, the JP’s office lost our marriage certificate, twice! So, technically, we’ve been married three times LOL. 
  7. I was a mother at age 18 and married too. I don’t recommend early motherhood or marriage. Not because it can’t work, but it sure makes things hard.
  8. I was a grandmother at age 36. My oldest grandchild is now almost 19! I have six in total!
  9. I gave birth to my last child at age 32.
  10. In a span of three years,  I had five dogs and they were all named Suzi.
  11. Don’t ask why. I don’t know. I just liked the name.
  12. Speaking of names, I was named after a very famous dancer, Cyd Charisse.
  13. I was also named after Nanette Fabre.
  14. I think my birth-father had a thing for chicks with legs.
  15. I was adopted by my step-dad at age 12.
  16. In my mind, he was the only father I ever had.
  17. He was killed on the job in 1999.
  18. He was 49 when he died.
  19. I miss him more and more every day as I get older.
  20. He was a libra.
  21. I have this thing with Libras. 
  22. I also have a thing for red hair and blue eyes.
  23. That’s how my husband won me over 😉 
  24. We’ll be celebrating our 30th anniversary this year in August
  25. BTW, my husband is a Libra. So was my ex-husband, and so are two of my kids.

The Next 25 Things

  1. I’m addicted to genealogy and family history.
  2. Probably because I don’t really have any family anymore except my husband, children, and grandchildren.
  3. My husband is a freakin’ genius
  4. I often envy his education
  5. I never finished high-school
  6. That hasn’t slowed me down but it’s not something I would recommend to anyone else
  7. I’ve been self-employed, either full-time or part-time, since I was 19 years old.
  8. My first “job” however, was working the concession stand at our local drive-in theatre when I was 12.
  9. I got fired near the end of the season for watching the movie instead of working.
  10. It was Sargent Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band with Peter Frampton. Can you blame me?
  11. I didn’t think so.
  12. I have done all sorts of work – plumber’s assistant, CNA, retail clerk, cashier, dishwasher, line cook, and waitress, residential rental property manager, delivery driver, bartender, and commercial property manager, to name a few.
  13. My first legitimate company was doing graphic design for local businesses for advertising in the Yellow Pages.
  14. My second legitimate company was called ‘E-Z Does It Cleaning Services’ and I cleaned houses for wealthy clientele on a big lake in Central Alabama.
  15. My company vehicle was one of the very first Dodge Caravan Mini-Vans. 
  16. I hated that car!
  17. I started doing photography as a hobby when I was 12 years old.
  18. My first camera was a Kodak Instamatic. 
  19. I knew then that I would always do something in the arts.
  20. I live, work and create in 135 square feet.
  21. I’m working towards owning my own tiny home (under 600 square feet)
  22. I found out in 2019 that I am dying from Congestive Heart Failure
  23. I also have Chronic Neurological Lyme Disease
  24. None of that slows me down. In fact, it drives me harder because
  25. I want to live my dream before I die 😀